advertisement
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

Back strain that wont leave me alone, can anyone offer advise before I have to find a new career?

Im 23. I am a welder. I have been having back pain for 4 months, upper middle back as well as radiating around my ribs a couple times a week. It mainly hurts to breathe in all the way.

I have had x rays, they came back fine. I have been going to physio for 2 months. It was diagnosed as back strain from being over worked. Assuming due to welding- Im now on office duty working at a desk.

I spent thousands on a new mattress, I changed the way I sleep and sit. I stopped eating dairy, eggs, and gluten. I took ibuprofen, tramadol, and most recently have started taking CBD to see if that will help. I stretch and do my physio exercises every day. I spend my free time sitting on a heating pad. 

I read a back strain takes a few weeks to heal, but after 4 months and little to no improvement I am at a complete loss.

Im writing this to see if anyone has any other ideas as to what I can do to help myself, or what could be wrong. I cant get injections due to where its located. I really just want to get well again so I can continue working as a welder. To be honest I am running out of patience and I cry a lot about this, I feel Im too young to have a completely messed up back! 

If anyone can offer any guidance AT ALL I would love ya forever!

Sidenote: I am anemic and hypythyroid, I take iron and synthroid for these issues. 

advertisement

Comments

• hi alyssamaja

welcome to spine-health

this is a long time, 'for a back strain' is they are referring to muscles.