advertisement
advertisement

Having ACDF surgery on C5-T1 in 18 days, I'M STARTING TO FREAK OUT!

Hi All, 

I'd love to hear some words of wisdom from people with similar situations. I'm all set for ACDF on my C5-L1 in 18 days. I've had chronic neck pain as long as I can remember, its always there. On good days it's just the normal underlining pain in the background. On bad days it consumes me and drives me crazy. I'm 39 and it's just getting worse as time goes on. I'm always aware of the pain. I'm not always overcome by the pain but it never goes away. It effects me the most when I'm sitting at my desk and I have to do that a lot. I own my own apparel business and I'm a designer and illustrator. My drawing arm and shoulder ache constantly while I'm working at my computer. Some days it's torture trying to get my work done. I've tried EVERYTHING over the years and nothing really works. I am however very active and do a lot of running including running marathons. I'm trying to qualify for the Boston Marathon and want to be able to achieve that goal! Being able to run means the world to me. Surprisingly I feel the best when I'm active. It's when I'm stationary that it's the worst. My neurosurgeon is extremely highly recommended. I've been seeing him for years and he's always told me to wait as long as I can and that we would know when it's time. He and I think that I'm ready. He seems very confident that I will be able to get back to running and live an active lifestyle. Up until recently I only thought I was having my C5-7 fused, thats what we have been discussing for years. Now we are adding the T1 and that seems to be where most of my problem is coming from. Adding the T1 has me pretty scared, I wasn't prepared for it. I'm worried that having that many fused will have quite an impact on range of motion and that it will effect my ability to live an active life. If I loose a little range of motion and the pain is much better I'm all good with that outcome. Hopefully i