advertisement
advertisement

Warring Diagnoses: What To Do Next? Discretized Pain "Energy Levels"

Hi all,

Thanks in advance for your time. I really appreciate the community here and all the support I've seen on other threads.

I'm new to the forums. Feel free to direct me to a thread if you think my case is especially similar, but I've done some browsing and haven't come up with anything.

The decision I'm trying to make for myself is: should I go ahead and get an MRI (~$300 out of pocket) to see where it leads, or should I continue conservative treatment?

What I want to know from this forum is: does my history lend itself to any diagnosis that you know of besides slipped/herniated disk and stress fracture?

Intro:

I'm a 23-year-old male physics grad student. I'm 6'2", 186 lbs (lost 4 lbs since the accident, for what it's worth). I'm athletic, as physicists run.

About 6 months ago I think I injured my back deadlifting (300lbs, which at the time didn't seem like very much). I didn't notice it until doing yoga the next morning--not so much a shooting pain as a "firey" ache. At the time, I think the pain would've been a 6. It lasted about a week, gradually dying down to a 3 in certain positions and 0 otherwise. 

Over time the pain has oscillated, but it's always dependent on my position. In particular, bending while turning to the right is a no-no.

Rest seems to help temporarily, and ice helps dull the pain. Major aggravators include pulling my shoelaces up while bent over and sitting forward to solve pen-and-paper problems.  In fact, my main complaint is that the distracting pain is making it difficult to do my studies.