advertisement
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. On June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums moved to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

Why I'm saying no to SCS trial

This is my first time posting, even though I've long known that this is the best place to discuss spine related problems.  I've had a TLIF fusion of my lower back L4-S1, which was brutal and has created painful posterior scarring and failed back syndrome.  I also had an anterior fusion of C5-C7 which later was broken during a strangulation attack, and not since repaired.

I've found my current pain doctor, and another neurosurgeon several years ago quite pushy when it comes to trying to get me to "try" it.  I was scheduled for a trial for a lumbar stimulator a few weeks ago and feel relieved that I canceled it.  If done permanently, the pain doctor actually does the whole surgery and places them above the hip line.  

#1 reason I'm rejecting this is that I'm almost certain that I will have pain around the pocket.  The tissues there right now are sore to the touch and very sensitive.  

#2, no pain management.  I'm on Suboxone, and because of it's blocking effect normal pain medications don't work, only high dose fentanyl. I had sinus surgery 6 weeks ago, and while the used pain medication on the day of the surgery, the pharmacy wouldn't fill for Percocet afterward, and I was told that if I had picked it up I would have violated my pain contract. The result was prolonged suffering and depression. I'm having more and more breakthrough pain the longer I'm on it, which matches my previous long-term (5+ years) use of it with the same effect.