advertisement
advertisement

i am scared

over the past 6 months I have had worsening neurological symptoms (drop foot, altered gait, poor balance, etc.) which I attributed to a possible herniaated disc or rupture at L5. I had been treated for a ruptured disc at the same level 6 yers ago with some of the same symptoms, most notably the dropped foot. I was not overly worried though, as the pain was far less severe, although the gait and balance issues were far more pronounced. I work in sales with healthcare professionals, many of whom treat the specific spine issues I have (degenerative disc disease, spinal stenosis, arthritis, and previous fusion at C4-C6 10 years ago). Despite having significant knowledge regarding my disease state and working with providers on a daily basis, I kicked the can down the road for several months before discussing it with a neurologist over coffee about 3 weeks ago. Given my symptoms and history, he sent me to a common friend and colleague who specializes in pain management (the spine surgeon who had performed my previous surgery and lumbar injections was no longer practicing). As expected, an MRI was performed of my entire spine, and sure enough, L5 was an issue. Unfortunately, it became immediately clear that it was a minor concern relative to the other findings in my MRI report. 2 days later when I arrived to schedule my appointment, the doctor - a man I’ve known professionally and socially for 16 years (our daughters play volleyball for rival club teams so we see each other virtually every other weekend between January and May) - sees me at the front desk and immediately ushers me back into his office. I could tell something was very wrong by the look on his face and his demeanor. The first words out of his mouth were “I’m surprised you’re walking...” With that he started going over the report and the imaging, at which point my knowledge and professional experience (I’ve looked at images and worked in pain management for 2 decades)