advertisement
advertisement

L5/S1 lumbar fusion w/ cage

I had this spinal surgery 10 months ago and I am still in so much pain. I have to alternate sitting and standing and sitting in a car too long is unbearable. I am only 18 and a college athlete and I want nothing more than to return to play again. I have been doing rehab for the last 8 months and feel like I have made no progress as the nerve pain still runs down my leg and my lumbar spine aches and throbs all of the time. The only thing that helps is laying down. I need to know if this is normal or what experiences others have had with this. Thank you!

advertisement

Comments

• L4_L5LL4_L5 Posts: 1,128
    edited 06/18/2019 - 12:37 PM

I would get a second opinion from a new neurosurgeon. Nerves can take a long time to wake up but it sounds like you had surgery not too long (maybe 5-7 months) after your injury.

Based on how soon you had your surgery after your injury (months and not years) and also the fact you’re only 18, I would personally have expected better progress by now.

Don’t be bashful about taking a post-op MRI to a new surgeon and explaining your medical history and current complaints and ongoing struggles. 

Someone out there can help. 

Good luck and please keep us updated,

• challengercchallenger Posts: 1,182
    edited 07/17/2019 - 1:21 PM

You are very young so you may not know this saying, the squeaky wheel gets the grease, what that means is you need to keep telling your surgeon or another surgeon what is going on, Good luck and keep us posted.

Chip

• advertisement