advertisement
advertisement

New to sight and many many questions

Hi all, I am a 65 yr old female who has had scoliosis since I was 14. It never hinder me in my daily life. I have seen a chiropractor and massage person for the past 40 years. I walk about 10 miles  a week, lift light weights, swim, and do a yoga class for scoliosis once a week. I do have minimal pain, but it is very managable. Have not had my back xrayed in 40 years. My massage therapist said I should go get a baseline... So, I went to a spine doctor. I have a lumbar curve of 45 degrees. He said that I would need surgery, or be in a wheelchair for the rest of my life. Not too excited about his diagnoses, especially since I am still so active. I have an appointment with a neurosurgeon in a few weeks. When does one know if they need surgery?  Don't want it unless I really need it, but also don't want to be 80 when the pain hits....

Thanks

advertisement

Comments

• LizLiz Posts: 2,313

Welcome Kimbohc  we’re glad you’re here!

While you’re waiting for a reply to your first post, please take a few moments to review the Code of Conduct and FAQ section, located under Forum Tools. There you will find important information about posting in the forum and helpful tips for new members.

Have you seen the Scoliosis Health Center on Spine-health? It features a list of doctor-authored articles about different types of scoliosis and scoliosis treatment options. It has a lot of really helpful information about scoliosis.

Again, welcome to the Veritas Health Forum.

Liz

Veritas Health Forum Moderator

• Kim, you're incredible. My situation has parallels to yours. I'm 73 with severe lumbar scoliosis, degenerative scoliosis, and arthritis. You are wise to have a baseline x-ray. (Download it to your own records for future use.) I've consulted a slew of orthopedic and scoliosis surgeons in recent months in connection with hip replacement and actively worsening scoliosis.