advertisement
advertisement

I may be headed down a different path than I thought.

Hello everyone. Just thought I would give everyone the lowdown on my latest trials and tribulations as a spiney... LOL! My PM Doc gave me a steroid injection last week to try and offer me some relief. As the doc was working on me under the floriscope, he noticed the hardware at my four level fusion site. He said that because I only have hardware on one side of my spine that it could have caused my issues. How many members on here have hardware on one side of their spine vs both sides? Before my fusion surgery my surgeon told me that he was going to put hardware on both sides. When I woke, he only did one. I am an engineer, and it is bad practice to support a vertical compression loaded structure on one side. Did my original surgeon screw me up? I was going to have a pain pump installed soon, but I slammed the brakes on it because my PM wants me to see a neurosurgeon. Now I am all freaked out from the possibility of maybe having revision open back surgery. I dread being cut on again. I had such a rough time with the first surgery. In conclusion.... I would like to hear how many of you had multi level lumbar fusion with supporting hardware on one side. And please, as usual, I would like everyone to chime in and let me know their opinions. I thank you all in advance. I pray you are all as well as you can be.

Chris

advertisement

Comments

• Chris,