advertisement
advertisement

L5 S1 paracentral prolapsed intervertebral disc

Hey all,

I am 4 weeks post op of a microdiscectomy and just wondering if anyone else have had symptoms so long after surgery? Mine was an emergency (thank goodness I work in a hospital and got seen straight away), but that pain was something so bad....apparently it was a big one. I have pictures if I am load on here? Just wanted to share my experience and ask how everyone else are getting on cause I am having physiotherapy twice weekly and the pain is slowly coming back. It's like the pain I got shooting down my botox and into my calf.....not like before as before was pain that not even the top dose of morphine took away,  it's more like a sciatic pain, but into my groin now ad well which is strange? 

This might be normal so I am asking as I would rather not see the neurosurgeon again if I can avoid it?

advertisement

Comments

• Welcome Leonora we’re glad you’re here!

I have had similar pain after surgery, it was the nerves waking up and looking for their new normal, be sure to tell your therapist and doctor, if it gets too bad, there are nerve specific medications that could be helpful. I wish I could tell you how long it will last but nerves heal at their own rate and everybody is different.

While you’re waiting for a reply to your first post, please take a few moments to review the Code of Conduct and FAQ section, located under Forum Tools. There you will find important information about posting in the forum and helpful tips for new members.

Have you read the article Practical Advice for Recovering from Back Surgery on Spine-health? It offers a lot of practical tips around what to expect before, during, and after surgery. You may also want to check out the video How to Prep Your Home for Spine Surgery Recovery, which also has some great tips.

Again, welcome to the Veritas Health Forum.

Chip 

Veritas Health Forum Moderator

• memerainboltmemerainbolt IndianaPosts: 4,161