advertisement
advertisement
The Veritas Health Forum is moving! On September 30, 2020, this Forum will no longer be available. Please read important information about the changes here.

Struggling with tapering for surgery

I have a revision on my lumbar fusion in about 6 weeks. They are also extending it down and working on my scoliosis curve. My surgeon wants me to cut my pain meds in half (50mg Oxycodone) so we have adequate pain control options after surgery. I agreed to this and informed my pain management physician. She started me on a taper of 5mg per week and I'm really struggling. My pain is progressively getting worse. I just did my second drop (down to 40mg) and I am in so much pain and I wake up feeling the withdrawals. I am also on medical cannabis but that only helps with pain when I take enough that I am so high. With two preteen kids this just isn't an option for me to be stoned. 

Does anyone have any advice on getting through the taper process? I am not going to ask my doctor to stop the taper. I had a different surgery over the summer and that was a nightmare recovery because we didn't taper going into it.

advertisement

Comments

• I have been off pain meds for almost three months now. I did find one thing that helped me with the withdrawls. Stand in a HOT shower. Not sure what it does, but it made me feel alot better. Temporarily anyway. Hope this helps.

Chris

• Chris I will try that. I've been trying to stay really busy and working out as much as I can. Today I feel shakey and chilled, so I know it'll be a hard day. My pain doctor prescribed Trazodone and I start that tonight. We're hoping if I can sleep better it'll make things a little easier. 

• advertisement