advertisement
advertisement

Weight gain a few years later

Hello. This is my first time posting and I just joined. A couple of years ago I had weight-loss surgery and lost 60 pounds originally. Unfortunately that’s right around the time I had serious back pain developed. It got so bad that I lost my job, had to move back in with my parents and was almost completely bedridden for a year. I saw doctors that recommend the wrong treatments. It was incredibly frustrating. But I did finally find the right doc and he found the problem.  He told me that I had a pars defect, which is a birth affect where part of your spine is not fully formed when you’re born. Fir some people who have this birth affect, it can become very painful in their 30s and they don’t even know they have it until then. Which is exactly what happened to me. performed the spinal fusion at L5 S1.

The fusion was done in 2017. Despite being stuck in bed before that I continue to lose. And after surgery as I moved more and with PT, I picked up the pace and lost more weight. About 90 pounds total. 

Last year i started gaining weight again. I’m having a hard time with it because I was recently diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Which I believe was partly triggered by the back pain and back surgery. So I’ve been going back to my old ways and eating too much as a comfort. Which is not something I want to rely on again.

I am in aqua therapy which is tremendously helpful. I am getting a lot stronger in a lot of pain relief from it.