advertisement
advertisement

RLS + Failed Back Surgery Syndrome

I'm finding myself in a very interesting place, and my doctors seem exceptionally perplexed. I've had 2 fusion surgeries: the first was an L4-L5 fusion in 2018, and the second was a L3-L4 fusion in 2019. Post surgery I have been in debilitating pain and am unable to do pretty much anything (walk, stand, sit in normal chairs, bend, etc). Pain management has me on 40mg of Percocet per day which mitigates the pain, but doesn't do anything to actually stop it. They aren't sure the exact source of the pain and they have diagnosed me with Post Laminectomy Syndrome. HERE'S THE CATCH THOUGH: I have been suffering from Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS) for 20+ years. I'm on daily Klonopin and Requip for that. The catch-22 for me is that Klonopin + Percocet is a VERY dangerous combo (I'm a Registered Nurse Paralegal and I've seen some awful things when benzos and opiods are combined). I want to get off the Percocet ASAP. However without Klonopin my RLS becomes unbearable, and without Perocet (or stronger opioids) the back pain is a 10+. Gabopentin has been mentioned as something that could possible treat both issues, but I'm actually allergic to it. Spinal Cord Stimulation was also proposed, but the last time I had any type of electro-stim, my RLS was so irritated that I didn't sleep for 2 days. So, basically, I'm at a loss as are my doctors. My neuorologist said I have a hyperactive nervous system, so I will always react far more strongly to medications and surgeries than most people will. My surgeon said that, although there were risks, he didn't anticipate any long term issues with the surgery. Well...19 months and 2 surgeries later (the 2nd surgery done to try and fix the immense paid from the 1st surgery), my quality of life has gone to nonexistent and my doctors seem stumped. The RLS is really the thing that is foiling them at every turn. Has ANYONE else ever experienced this? I'm open to any/all suggestions at