advertisement
advertisement

Post OP L4/L5 Microdiscectomy

Hello everyone, 

I'm a 27 year old male just would like to share my concerns and experince with this recent post op surgery. I'm creating this discussion about a MD I had on my L4/L5 4/10/2020. 

A little back history I had a MD on my L5/S1 back in 06/2017. It was a severe, central/right herniation that I dealt with for 3 months and was the worse pain I've dealt with in my life. I got a MD and recovered amazingly. Immmidiate pain relief, had comcerns and doubts in the healing process but I would say the overall healing was easment. I would say I healed 98% from that herniation and felt amazing. On the first MRI it also showed non-problematic herniations L3-L5.

So time goes on and I started to look in to working out maybe around 12/2019 running, weights, cardio, etc.(I'm a firefighter so I was thinking to myself about staying in shape.) Then I got this great ideal of "I'm going to load my spine a do back and front squats," thinking that this is going to build my core and help with my back in the future. Did a couple a couple months of that felt great, stronger, building muscle, my wife was digging it and caused issues. So as of end of May/2019, I started to have lower right back pain for a week then it went to sciatica down to my toes. Did a MRI in June/2019 and showed my L5/S1 was perfectly fine but my L4/L5 was the problem child. At this time it was just a constant burning feeling and numbness with only relief was lying supine in my bed. I tried at home excercises everyday, physical therapy, ESI shots, inversion tables, some yoga, almost everyting I can do I tried, thinking it would heal to point a of tolerance.