advertisement
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

worried about pain meds

DustyDDusty Posts: 10
edited 06/11/2012 - 8:45 AM in Lower Back Pain
hello, I was wondering how long a person should be taking strong narcotic pain meds? I have been eating these for about 3 years, starting with pretty weak stuff and now after failed injections, failed P.T.,a year old l3 l4 fusion that "looks like it didnt take", and due to undergo another fusion in 21 days, I am eating enough narcotics to take down a circus elephant! I still have substantial pain with the meds and without I cant even function. Being my next major surgery is on the horizon I know I will require somthing even stronger (if the make anything) following surgery, and at sum point dont they just stop writing scripts? Dont you end up addicted to these narcotics after prolonged exposure to them? I dont want to end up being a junky, and feel that it's wrong to even have begun taking the meds, yet it is a neccessity for any atempt at a very slightly normal physical ability. Damned if ya do, damned if ya dont. :/
2 low back fusions. 1 neck fusion. Lots of therapy, injections, and so on.
advertisement

Comments

• Since you're going to surgery hopefully when you recover you won't need as many medications. Well I hope so for you. It's not easy taking medications but you've tried everything else right? Best wishes and all the best for your upcoming surgery and recovery. Charry
    DDD of lumbar spine with sciatica to left hip,leg and foot. L4-L5 posterior disc bulge with prominent facets, L5-S1 prominent facets with a posterior osteocartilaginous bar. Mild bilateral foraminal narrowing c-spine c4-c7 RN