advertisement
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. On June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums moved to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

New members: Please read our Code of Conduct before submitting your first post.
Learn how to use the Veritas Health Forum: Take the System Tutorial

LOWER BACK PAIN/SCIATICA LOWER RIGHT LEG PAIN

I AM A 46 YEAR OLD MALE WITH SEVERE LOWER RIGHT LEG PAIN AND LOWER BACK PAIN. I AM A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, SO I REFUSE TO TAKE NARCOTIC PAIN PILLS. I HAVE HAD THIS LOWER LEG PAIN FOR APPROX 5 YRS AND LOWER BACK PAIN FOR APPROX 2 YRS. ABOUT 3 YRS AGO I WENT TO A DR AND HAD AN MRI DONE. HE TOLD ME MY SEVERE LEG PAIN WAS CAUSED BY A HERNIATED L-5 DISC ON THE NERVE EVEN THOUGH I DID NOT HAVE LOWER BACK PAIN AT THAT TIME. HE PUT ME ON A SPINAL STRETCHING MACHINE AND PHYSICAL THEREPY FOUR DAYS A WEEK FOR 5 WEEKS. THE LOWER LEG PAIN EASED UP BUT DID NOT GO AWAY. 6 MONTHS LATER MY LOWER LEG PAIN CAME BACK WORSE THEN EVER. SO I'VE BEEN DEALING WITH IT ALL THIS TIME. TWO YEARS AGO MY LOWER BACK STARTED HURTING. MY VA DOCTOR SENT ME TO FURTHER PHYSICAL THEREPY FOR 6 WEEKS WITH NO PAIN RELEASE FROM THE LOWER RIGHT LEG. MY DR GAVE ME GABAPENTIN 200MG FOR THE NEUROPATHIC PAIN IN MY LEG 3 TIMES A DAY. IT NUMBED THE NERVE PAIN WHILE ON THE MEDICATION. I HAVE BEEN ON THIS MEDICATION FOR 2 YEARS WITH A STEADY INCREASE IN MG. I'M NOW AT THE MAX DOSE OF 800MG 3 TIMES A DAY, BUT IT ONLY WORKS FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS AFTER EACH DOSE. NOW I HAVE SEVERE LOWER BACK PAIN AND THE LOWER RIGHT LEG PAIN IS SO SEVERE IT HINDERS ME FROM WALKING, STANDING, SLEEPING, AND EVERY DAY LIFE. NOW IT IS AFFECTING WITH MY JOB ON PA