advertisement
advertisement

Pain when looking downwards

Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster. Over the last year or so I have benefited greatly from reading postings from many forum members here. I am 39 and have a herniation at C5-C6 and  a disc bulge at C4. I am trying my best to avoid surgery and am able to manage pain most of the time. However what I struggle with a lot is any movement that causes me to bend my neck downwards - for ex looking down at the keyboard or phone, I get instant pain in my neck and down my back. At PT when I did the chin to chest movement repeatedly I was in extreme pain for weeks (especially my chest and shoulders). Have any of you run into this before? I work in IT and simply cannot avoid looking down at a keyboard or laptop screen. The longer I do it the worse the pain get and many times it's also accompanied by a instant headache. I do want to get the range of motion back but just don't want to force my self to do certain exercises that will worsen my pain....any tips or experiences will be appreciated.

Arsi
advertisement

Comments

• LizLiz Posts: 2,265
    edited 07/23/2019 - 1:08 PM
    hello arsi

please click on the link for useful information Welcome to Veritas Health Forum
  • Bruce EitmanBruce Eitman Akron, OH, USAPosts: 1,340

Arsi

Welcome to the forums, glad that you finally joined.

My first two thoughts are; learn to type (seriously, then no looking at the keyboard) and get a monitor that you can attach to your laptop and raise up.  I am a software engineer with cervical issues, you can read my story by following the link in my signature.

Talk with your doctor about traction.  Traction did a lot for me, but still in the end I had surgery and am glad that I did.

• advertisement

• Bruce Eitman said:

Arsi

Welcome to the forums, glad that you finally joined.