advertisement
advertisement

Spinal reconstruction surgery--Any success stories or words of wisdom?

Every time I log on here and read some posts, it seems like I just get depressed and log off before I start crying. I am looking for someone who is happy with their decision to have surgery. My scoliosis was diagnosed at age 13 at 30%. I am now 56 year old woman with scoliosis @ 52%. I have been delaying having surgery for a few years now, waiting for a "miracle". I have also had 1 cervical fusion and now need 2 more cervical fusions. But the major surgery which is being recommended is 7 or 8 discs, with rod, pins, etc. As I told my husband, I'm afraid to have the surgery and afraid not to for fear of being completely disabled by age 70.
I know the recovery will be slow and painful..my doctor has been very honest with me that this surgery isn't going to remove all pain, but prevent future issues. Does anyone have any words of wisdom or words of encouragement to share? Thank you.
advertisement

Comments

• Hello Jules

Its not easy deciding on surgery
    Weighing the risks, the pro's and cons

The benefits from the long term vs the short term pain.

The indecision and waiting can be the worse of the situation..and sadly, so many maambers have had to make the choice.

Hang in there and soon someone who has walked that path can answer

• hvillshhvills Suzhou, ChinaPosts: 809
    edited 10/21/2016 - 12:53 AM
    Jules