advertisement
advertisement

L5 s1 discectomy post op

hey guys, my name is Aaron, let me tell you my story. I'm an MMA fighter who also works a very physical job, on June 18 I was punching the bag in the gym and I felt a crack followed by the worst pain I've ever felt in my life. I took some time off the gym the pain went away, I started training again. About a month after I started training again I got terrible leg pain, to the point I couldn't walk. I went and got an MRI turns out had a severe herniated disc on my l5-s1. I did physical therapy and it just made it worse. So I opted for surgery and had a microdiscectomy on Tuesday December 6. I haven't had any pain in my leg while I'm walking but I still don't even have close to full range of motion in my leg. I went for s walk today, and started getting pain. Not sure if reherniation or if just inflammation. If anybody could help me or give me some faith lol. I need to get back in the gym within 6 months.thanks everyone!
advertisement

Comments

• MartySmithMartySmith Toronto, CanadaPosts: 31
    You are barely out of surgery Aaron, at the time of you writing your post you were just 3 days post-op! Be patient, move within your means and your surgeons post-op guidelines. I don't think you have anything to worry about, your discomfort sounds completely normal.
  • Aaron your disc was pinching your nerve so the pain is your nerve healing but it never hurts to check with the doc like i did the same day you had surgery i still have leg pain because the disc was so bad and im 7 months post op as of last monday and dont rush things let your body tell you what it wants
  • advertisement

• MartySmith said:
    You are barely out of surgery Aaron, at the time of you writing your post you were just 3 days post-op! Be patient, move within your means and your surgeons post-op guidelines. I don't think you have anything to worry about, your discomfort sounds completely normal.